Skip to Content

Our History

The Birth of a Medical Institution

Mount Auburn Hospital’s history is made up of people who cared about healthcare in this community and stood behind the hospital’s mission to improve the health of the residents of Cambridge and its surrounding towns. Originally founded by Emily Parsons in 1871, the hospital was then known as The Cambridge Hospital. After being forced to close its doors for a time, the hospital reopened at its current location in 1886, after fundraising efforts culminated by Ms. Parsons.

A Timeline that Reflects Continual Growth

Dr. Morrill Wyman, for whom the hospital’s Wyman Building is named, served as the hospital’s first president. Throughout history, Mount Auburn Hospital leaders, starting with Dr. Wyman and all the way up to current President Jeanette G. Clough, have been committed to providing high quality care to patients like you.

From the opening of the Nursing School in 1905 (the school closed in 1978); to the establishment of the Medical Residency program in the 1920s; to the expansion of the hospital with the South Building, Doctors’ Office Building and most recently, the Stanton Building, the goal has been steadfast: to continually provide excellent care to you, our patients.

Joint Commission Accredited

Mount Auburn Hospital is accredited by The Joint Commission.

Joint Commission Seal

Mount Auburn Hospital

Stay Connected

Harvard Medical School

Harvard Medical School Teaching Hospital